Cultural Events

Together we… CELEBRATE

Culture and identity are a critical component of all SACNAS events. As an attendee, you are encouraged to bring your whole self — including your culture and background — to the virtual conference! While culture is woven throughout the full conference agenda, the events below are some specific opportunities to celebrate and engage with the cultures of our diverse community.

Continue below or skip to: Music • Art Cooking Dancing All

House Band: El Rio

Monday, October 19 to Saturday, October 24 at every plenary session (daily 11am PT / 2pm ET)

El Rio, founded by Melissa Uribe and Bryan Diaz, is a quintet born and raised in Los Angeles, (occupied Tongva land). Inspired by the urban and natural landscape of the Los Angeles river, the highlands along the Arroyo Seco and the red tailed hawks that fly above, El Rio evokes the sounds and energies of the land. Their words are of resistance and revolution expressed through Latin American folk rhythms and the wide array of acoustic and electric instruments used by the group form a lyrical dance that unifies their past and present in song. Always in solidarity with communities fighting and resisting imperialist oppression worldwide, El Rio aims to provoke thought and change through music.

Make sure to attend all mainstage/plenary sessions (Keynote & Featured Speakers) at their start time to catch El Rio performances!

Indigenous Marketplace

Monday, October 19 to Saturday, October 24, All Hours

Shop the Indigenous Marketplace to find hand-made art, crafts, and jewelry! Conference attendees will have the opportunity to shop virtually throughout all five days of the conference (October 19 to 24) via the virtual platform.

Cooking with SACNISTAs!

Wednesday, October 21, at 1:30pm PT / 4:30pm ET

In the session you’ll be able to cook along with Home Chef Dr. Diana Azurdia to make a delicious chicken pozole. Make sure to gather ingredients and prep your materials ahead of time, then join the session ready to put all of it together!

If you cook this recipe or have another to share with our community, please post on
social media using #SACNISTAScook!

Native American Dance Showcase

Saturday, October 24 at 2:45pm PT / 5:45pm ET

This Native American Dance Showcase will feature dance performances that you would see at the annual powwow. There will also be information shared by the performers giving the audience more detail about the dances and regalia. The showcase will provide a ‘powwow’ feel and conference attendees will also have a chance to participate. Come ready to enjoy and engage!

All Cultural Events

Questions?

Please contact darryl@sacnas.org or call (831) 459-0170